Local Emergency Planning Committee

The Local Emergency Planning Committee (LEPC) is comprised of fourteen represented affiliations of the town which are appointed by the Board of Selectmen for a term of one year. Their primary mission is addressing hazardous materials that are stored in and transported through Southwick. To better achieve their mission, the committee operates with four basic functions:

  1. To develop a comprehensive emergency plan for the Town of Southwick and to keep the plan up-to-date.
  2. To receive information about accidental releases.
  3. To collect, manage, and provide public access to information on hazardous chemicals in the Town of Southwick.
  4. To educate the public about risks from accidental and routine releases of chemicals and work with facilities to minimize the risks. The LEPC provides information on request of Tier II forms containing hazardous material inventories and spill reports submitted by the responsible party.

The Town of Southwick Local Emergency Planning Committee has attained the status of Full Certification from the State Emergency Response Commission (SERC).

If you have any questions or comments, please contact this email.

Board Members

Name Title
Karl J. Stinehart Chief Administrative Officer
Randal Brown, P.E. Department of Public Works Director
Douglas A. Moglin Select Board
Charles Dunlap Emergency Management Director
Chief Russell Anderson Fire Services / EMS
Tom FitzGerald Health Inspector
Karen Wzorek Transportation Supervisor
Sergeant Kirk H. Sanders Police Department
Stephen Presnal STRSD Business Administrator
Cindy Sullivan Council on Aging Director
Jennifer Willard Superintendent of Schools
Bruce Bussiere Noble Hospital Emergency Management Director
Brian Houlihan American Inn Plant Director