Town of Southwick Meeting Minutes

Southwick 250th Anniversary Committee

Monday, November 19, 2018, 6:30 p.m.

in the Town Hall Auditorium

Members in Attendance: See Attachment "A" - 1 Page(s) Sign-In Sheet

The Meeting of the Southwick 250^{th} Anniversary Committee was opened by Chairman James Putnam at 6:30 p.m.

The next scheduled meeting will be 12/17/18 at 6:30 p.m.

A MOTION was made by Mr. Fox, seconded by Ms. McQuade (Vote-Unanimous) to approve the October 15, 2018 Minutes.

See Attachment "B" - 1 Page(s)

Chairman Putnam read the list of individuals that needed to sign the Social Media Policy sheets.

He then asked everyone to introduce themselves.

Mr. Putnam then announced to the Committee that due to work obligations, Mr. Tichey (Parade Work Group) has resigned from the Southwick 250th Anniversary Committee. Mr. Deedy will look for someone to serve as parade coordinator.

Work Group Meetings are as follows, if you are booked on this day to meet and are not please call 569-5995 to cancel so the room can become available for someone else to use. You may also request, at this time, room usage for another day if need be:

- Outreach and Social Media Workgroup: 2nd Tuesday @ 6:30 @ Town Hall
- Youth & Schools Work Group: TBA
- Historical Content, Publications and Souvenirs Workgroup: 2nd Monday @ Town Hall, Conference Room 1 @ 6:30
- Funding & Budget Workgroup: 2nd Monday @ Town Hall, SB Conference Room @ 6:30
- Anniversary Parade and Float Workgroup: 2nd Monday @ Town Hall
- <u>Celebration Events</u>: 2nd Monday @ Daily Grind

Work Group Reports:

Celebration Events:

- Two new members: Cindy Marshall and Bill Lis.
- Discussion regarding the Tree Lighting Festival which will be the "first" event which the 250th will be part of.
- Also dates for a Winter Carnival.
- The Library Trustees stated if the Trivia Contest, previously discussed, does happen, they would be happy to pay for the event.

See Attachment "C" - 3 Page(s)

Funding & Budget Workgroup:

- A \$1,000.00 donation was announced. A thank you letter will be sent on letterhead with the logo on it, once it is received and voted on.
- The Workgroup will meet the 2nd Monday of the month at 6:30 pm in conference room 2. (This will need to be check with the Select Board Office for availability).
- A letter of introduction to major donors to sponsor main events.
- Brackets will be in next week.
- Ms. McQuade requested budgets from each work group at the next meeting.

<u>Historical Content, Publications and Souvenirs Workgroup:</u>

- This Workgroup will meet the 2nd Monday of the month at 6:30 pm in conference room 1. (This will need to be check with the Select Board Office for availability).
- A logo will need to be approved before they can proceed with ordering anything (i.e. hats, tee shirts, mugs, etc.).

See Attachment "D" - 1 Page(s)

Outreach and Social Media Workgroup:

- Southwoods is working on a logo. It will be shared through email.
- A new member, Megan Baildon, will be put in front of the Select Board for appointment to the committee.
- Deb Herath will be editor the press releases, etc. for the Committee.
- David Pierce will be the official photographer
- A photo contest was discussed.

Anniversary Parade and Float Workgroup:

• Barbara and Kim will work on the float.

See Attachment "E" - 1 Page(s)

Youth & Schools Work Group:

- Not quite up and running yet.
- A parent/child spelling bee was mentioned.
- Possibly tie it in with the ice cream social.

Being no further business to be brought before the Committee A MOTION was made by Mr. Fox, seconded by Mr. Mish (Vote-Unanimous) to adjourn at 8:00 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Sondra (Cindy) Pendleton

Cc: Town Clerk

Existing Members as of 12/15/18: (please let Cindy know if your name is not here).

Chelsea Berry Nancy Zdun

Freda Brown Cindy Pendleton
Elizabeth Deedy Maria MacWilliams

Ryan Dietert Marqus Phelps
Russ Fox Patricia Phillips

Sue FoxBud PhillipsSam GoodwinDavid PierceCharlene GoodwinJim PutnamBar GunnKaren Reed

David Gunn Karen Schomer
Lee Hamberg Todd Shiveley

Deborah Herath Ray Snow

Jill Keenan (unofficial) Elizabeth Stinehart (unofficial)

Diana King

Gae StrongFreniere

Diane Mason-Arnold

Gene Theroux

David Massai George Tichy - Resigned

Alberto Matos Lisa Whitehead

Linda McQuade Rodger Yargeau - Resigned

Ellen Miles Bill Lis

Terry Mish Cindy Marshall

Cathy Molta (unofficial) Barbara Westcott

Kimberly Monczka Roberta Page (unofficial)

Waiting for appointment at next Select Board Meeting (12/18/18)

Patrick Moore

Megan Baildon