## Town of Southwick Meeting Minutes Southwick 250<sup>th</sup> Anniversary Committee Monday, September 17, 2018, 6:30 p.m. in the Town Hall Auditorium

**Members in Attendance:** See Attachment "A" - 3 Page(s) Sign-In Sheet

The Meeting of the Southwick 250<sup>th</sup> Anniversary Committee was opened by Chairman James Putnam at 6:30 p.m.

The next scheduled meeting will be 10/15/18 at 6:30 p.m.

Chairman Putnam reported:

- He did Charters for each work group. See Attachment "B" 12 Page(s)
- Got a page put on the website
- Responded to the editor of the Southwick News Contacted schools regarding involving the children.
- Proposed News Release See Attachment "C" 1 Page(s)

Terry Mish reported he talked with:

- Talked with the Reardons from A & R Glass, which are heavy into scouting and could possible get the scouts involved.
- Talked with Chief Anderson regarding volunteers.
- Talked with the Senior Center to see if any member was interested in volunteering.

The following WORKGROUPS were formed and reports were given:

1. **Outreach and Social Media Workgroup:** the following are members of this workgroup:

Todd Shivley Deborah Herath Ellen Miles Terry Mish Jim Putnam Beth Stinehart-Unofficial Member

- Stated they needed more members.
- They have drawn up a social media list
- Discussed Connect CTY, Channel 15 and Town Cryer.
- A Facebook page.

2. <u>Youth & Schools Work Group:</u> the following are members of this workgroup:

Chelsea Berry Lisa Whitehead Ken Olsen Russ Fox Kim Monczka

Have not met yet.

3. <u>Historical Content, Publications and Souvenirs Workgroup:</u> the following are members of this workgroup:

Lee Hamberg, Chair Gae Strong Freniere Charlene Goodwin Sam Goodwin Jill Keenan Diana King Todd Shiveley Juliette Mason

Juliette Mason has shown interest in this work group. See email RE: "for inserts into newspaper." Discussed publications, calendars books, etc.

4. **Funding & Budget Workgroup:** the following are members of this workgroup:

Elizabeth Deedy Russ Fox Carol Geryk Karen Schomer Nancy Zdun Linda McQuade

- Stated a logo was needed asap.
- Thoughts for fundraising.

This work group meets the 2<sup>nd</sup> Monday of each month at the Library.

5. <u>Anniversary Parade and Float Workgroup</u> - the following are members of this workgroup:

George Tichy	GaeStrong Freniere
Ellen Miles	Ken Olsen
David Gunn	Patricia Phillips
Barbara Gunn	Kim Monska
Marcus Phelps	Al Matos
Ray Snow	Juliette Mason
David Sutton	

6. <u>Celebration Events</u> - the following are members of this workgroup:

Freda Brown David Pierce Roberta Page-Unofficial Member Chelsea Berry Beth Stinehart-Unofficial Member

See Attachment titled "Events Work Group Report 9/17/18 - 4 Page(s). **A MOTION** was made by Mr. Fox, seconded by Mrs. Pendleton (Vote-Unanimous) to approve no more than \$300.00 for Phase I of the events program. They requested to meet with Funding and Budget Committee regarding a booklet.

## General Information:

Approximate monies existing PRIOR to fundraising:Leftover from 225th Celebration (approximate)\$5,000FY18\$5,000 (used \$84.45) for FlyersFY19\$5,000FY19 from State to be used prior to 6/30/19\$25,000

Being no further business to be brought before the Committee the meeting was adjourned at 8:00 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Sondra (Cindy) Pendleton

Cc: Town Clerk

Chelsea Berry Freda Brown Elizabeth Deedy **Ryan Dietert** Russ Fox Sue Fox Sam Goodwin Charlene Goodwin Bar Gunn David Gunn Lee Hamberg Deborah Herath Jill Keenan Diana King Diane Mason-Arnold David Massai Alberto Matos Linda McQuade Ellen Miles Terry Mish

Cathy Molta Kimberly Monczka Nancy Zdun **Cindy Pendleton** Maria MacWilliams (See Cindy) Margus Phelps Patricia Phillips **Bud Phillips** David Pierce Jim Putnam Karen Reed Karen Schomer Todd Shiveley Ray Snow Elizabeth Stinehart (unofficial) Gae StrongFreniere Gene Theroux George Tichy Lisa Whitehead Rodger Yargeau