

Town of Southwick Master Plan Advisory Committee



# MINUTES

# October 19, 2023, 7:00 p.m.

"Hybrid" Meeting of the Master Plan Advisory Committee: In-person at the Southwick Town Hall, 454 College Highway, Southwick, MA, and also open for participation via Zoom (Per the Chapter 20 Acts of 2021)

## Written Minutes

(Not verbatim - comments can be heard on recordings available at <u>www.southwickma.org</u>)

### **MEMBERS IN ATTENDANCE:**

MPAC MEMBER Marcus Phelps PLANNING BOARD MEMBER & MPAC MEMBER David Spina SELECT BOARD MEMBER Doug Moglin DPW MEMBER Randy Brown AGRICULTURAL COMMISSION MEMBER Burt Hansen LAKES MANAGEMENT COMMITTEE MEMBER Norm Cheever FINANCE COMMITTEE MEMBER Aleda DeMaria RESIDENT Dorrie Boyd RESIDENT Dorrie Boyd RESIDENT Jessica Whitmore Parker RESIDENT Cori Rolland RESIDENT Maryssa Cook-Obregón RESIDENT Dave MacWilliams

### TOWN STAFF:

TOWN PLANNER Jon Goddard

#### ABSENT:

PLANNING BOARD CHAIR & MPAC MEMBER (ex officio) Michael Doherty PLANNING BOARD MEMBER David Sutton PLANNING BOARD MEMBER Jessica Thornton PLANNING BOARD MEMBER Richard Utzinger PLANNING BOARD SECRETARY Meghan Lightcap PARKS & RECREATION COMMISSION MEMBER David DeiDolori OWNER OF TOWN BUSINESS Scott Lamon, Tynic Landscaping

#### RESIDENT Roz Terry RESIDENT Patrick Jubb STUDENT REPRESENTATIVE MEMBER Lucas Caron STUDENT REPRESENTATIVE MEMBER Maria Michael

Also attending the meeting were people identified on Zoom.

The "hybrid" meeting of the Southwick Master Plan Advisory Committee (hereinafter referred to as the MPAC) was scheduled to take place via Zoom and was called to order at 7:00 p.m. by Mr. Phelps. He stated that the meeting was being recorded, asked if anyone else was recording the meeting, and asked if everyone could hear via Zoom.

- 1. <u>Roll call for attendance of Committee Members</u> Mr. Phelps noted that there was no quorum of the Planning Board.
- 2. Public Comment and Dialogue
- 3. Old Business
  - a. Discuss Publication of Master Plan Mr. Phelps said that by agreement the Pioneer Valley Planning Commission will provide ten copies of the finished plan. They will also provide copies of the executive summary, electronic copies of the Master Plan and the GID data. Mr. Comia said the copies cost about \$50. Mr. Moglin said it will be available to see on the town website and there will be some copies at the library. Mr. Comia shared some graphics that would be added to the plan for the members to see. Mr. Phelps suggested that if anyone would like to donate to the Gift Account for additional copies, they could pledge money to it and he personally pledged \$100 to allow for more copies to be made.
- 4. <u>New Business</u>
  - a. Master Plan Financial Update Mr. Goddard said phase 1 cost \$25,000 with an additional \$2,955 from the Gift Account. Phase 2 cost \$55,000 with a \$50,000 grant from the state.
- 5. Routine Business
  - a. Approval of October 5, 2023, meeting minutes.

A **MOTION** was made by Mr. Brown and **SECONDED** by Mr. Cheever to approve the meeting minutes of October 5, 2023. The motion passed unanimously.

b. Committee Member, Town Staff and Consultant Comments- Ms. Cook-Obregón asked what the next steps were after the Planning Board approves the Master Plan. Mr. Moglin said the Select Board could appoint a committee for 3 year terms with a potential to start in January. Ms. Cook-Obregón recommend adding a business owner as one of the resident representatives on this potential committee. Mr. Cheever handed out a summary of the action items to the members.

A **MOTION** was made by Mr. Moglin and **SECONDED** by Mr. MacWilliams to submit a request to the Planning Board that the Master Plan Advisory Committee be dissolved. The motion passed unanimously.

A **MOTION** was made by Mr. Brown and **SECONDED** by Mr. Moglin to authorize the Chair to sign the minutes from this meeting October 19, 2023. The motion passed unanimously.

Being no further business to be brought before the committee, A **MOTION** was made by Ms. Cook-Obregón and **SECONDED** by Mr. Hansen to close the meeting at 8:17 p.m. The motion passed unanimously.

Marcus Phelps

Jessica Whitmore Parker

David Spina

Doug Moglin

Randy Brown

David DeiDolori

Burt Hansen

Dave MacWilliams

Norm Cheever

Aleda DeMaria

Scott Lamon

Dorrie Boyd

Roz Terry

Cori Rolland

Maryssa Cook-Obregon

Lucas Caron

Maria Michael